Image

Olde Magoun’s Saloon

I consider myself a bit of a Mac-and-Cheese connoisseur. What is there not to love about it? Loads of cheese and carbs. YUM.

To my knowledge, Olde Magoun’s Saloon has hands down the BEST macaroni and cheese. Pictured above is their mac and cheese cooked to order and served in a cast iron skillet. You can choose to have it topped off with one of the following: kielbasa, blackened chicken, chili, steak, pulled pork, or hamburger. Sometimes I order it plain and sometimes I’ll get a topping. It’s delicioso either way- the picture above is plain.

Usually, I’m not a fan of the baked-breadcrumb-topping thing. These bread crumbs are different though. They’re super buttery and doesn’t feel/taste like sawdust in your mouth. Instead it’s crunchy smooth butteriness in your mouth. They use ziti for the pasta and who knows what magic for the cheese sauce. It’s just the perfect thickness and cheesiness. You pull your fork away and the cheese is stringin’ along the dish. YUM.

Pretty much everything on the menu at Magoun’s is tasty. Another one of my favorites is the Smoked Turkey and Swiss Press sandwich. On this particular day, I tried the Grilled Reuben for the first time. Not bad- flavorful, although I’m not a huge Reuben fan so I can’t judge or really compare.

Grilled Reuben

Besides the yummy food, wanna know what makes this place awesome!? The kitchen is open until 11pm every night. Oh, and they have a pretty good beer selection!

So come on down to Magoun Square in Somerville, MA and have yourself some award winning mac-and-cheese (in my book)!

Leave a Reply

